Oh, I Juggle!

Home, Family, Success, Peace… Can a woman really have it all?

Cleared Some Space and Feeling Energised

What does being organised mean to you? To me it means that I can find what I want without feeling stressed and living in a space which radiates peace. Being organised is much more than being neat or clean. It is a state of mind. If you can find what you are looking for quickly and be able to instruct someone else to do so, that space is organised. Knowing the what, where, how and most importantly, the why are the first steps to getting organised. When you are organised it becomes a firm foundation for all the things that you want to do well in life. It is like a backbone of structure running through the many things that shape your life. When you organise your physical space, your mental space gets organised. Your thoughts become clearer.

For me organizing is fun because part of it is establishing systems and logic underlies the entire process. If you have been following this blog, you know that I thrive on theory. It just makes everything more interesting for me.

Why am I going on and on about it? You guessed it! I cleared a major lot of books and papers yesterday. What a day it was! I started with a bout of allergy. So I was sneezing and sniffing the entire time. But since I had planned this, I just forged ahead. It was definitely worth it. I cleared a lot of stuff I had been holding onto for quite some time.

I find purging books so much more difficult than clothes. I have a more functional relationship with clothes. With books (and diaries, and papers with my daughter’s scribbles) there is a deeper emotional connect. So this pile had been growing and growing while every time I wanted to throw/ give something away ( remember the decluttering plan?), I would conveniently go to the clothes shelf, take a few pieces out, put it in a bag and give it off the very next day to my household help.

Yesterday’s decluttering put me in a wonderful head space and I woke up a good 5 minutes before the alarm rang at 4 am. The writing went very smoothly and I wrote down 1.5 times my usual number of words in that time. It really is simple. Momentum in one area of life livens up the other areas as well.

Whenever you feel stuck in the middle of any project, it is a wonderful idea to go organise a space. It clears up a lot of energy. Not just the subtle kind. You actually will feel physically more energetic. Declutter before you build a logical system into the space. You could also use symmetry to create a visual appeal. That well ordered look is what I call neat. But neat does not automatically imply organised. Although if you are organised it is easier to be neat.

How do you define clean, neat or organised? Do you use these words interchangeably?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Cleared Some Space and Feeling Energised

  1. True de-cluttering has always left me with more inner happiness and the opposite is also true.

  2. For me clean and neat is something when I can find things without any effort and that too by just scanning the room. A clutter free place gives my mind such balance I cannot describe. I agree it definitely helps to write better. I hope your story is progressing well :)

  3. Deepak Khatri on said:

    Impressive !

    • Thanks, Deepak! Remember, one day you remarked after class that I “talk like a book”. You didn’t mean it as a compliment then. But I decided to take your advice and try my hand. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

