Oh, I Juggle!

Home, Family, Success, Peace… Can a woman really have it all?

S.T.U.C.K!

It was a foolish thing to do. I knew it then. That didn’t stop me. I went right ahead and took the risk. Now, I am even more acutely aware of how foolish that was. I had a plan, you see. And if I had worked inside that framework, nothing should have gone wrong. But my husband came along and told me why my plan wasn’t good enough. It wouldn’t have mattered if I hadn’t agreed with him. He managed to convince me, though, and now I am stuck.

 

 

It was just a short story. An experiment. It was no big deal. Even if it did not work well, I could always bury that post with a quick succession of entries. I am a planner and had all the details sorted out. I even went over the exact words I would use to describe the events. I wrote in my head as I went about my duties during the day. These plans intruded into my sleep. I could not wait for the next day to begin. When I could sit at my laptop and just get those words onto a more permanent medium.

I am stuck and don’t know what to do. His idea is good. Thing is, some facts from the previous part of the story have to be changed. I can’t do that because brilliant me has already posted the first part. At first I thought this would be a wonderful chance to pull off something exceptional. I mean, how smart would I need to be to execute a great story within these constraints? Unfortunately, most of the ideas fizzled out as they were unfeasible.

I don’t know which is better. To hope that people were looking forward to reading the rest of it and were disappointed that it had not been posted. Or hope that they had better things to do and didn’t notice that I haven’t kept up my word. It is a good thing to own up to an error and give an explanation, right?

Did I mention I am stuck?

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “S.T.U.C.K!

  1. Given the time that has passed, you can actually go back and edit the first part to fit the good idea that you have now, since your readers may anyway want to go back and refresh their memories. If life can surprise us by changing all that we held to be inviolable, as human writers, we can too, I would think.

  2. We are all familiar with the concept of alternate endings . . . . Now Shankari pioneers the concept of the alternate beginning :D

  3. Alternate beginning it is :) go ahead…

  4. Does life go ahead like a planned clockwork? Can you change your past? Life is a freewinger. You do not need to change anything. If you are feeling stuck, it is not the past that is holding you.

  5. Well, easy – turn it into a contest and allow your readers to “Finish/Complete the story”. :) What say? Lots of minds, lots of ideas and you can pick and choose the one you love the best.
    And publish it as sequel to your story. :)

  6. Hmm…Whatever you think would bring out the best story go ahead with it….Readers will definitely be with you I am sure!

  7. There are so many possibilities after the door bell rings…and if you have another idea about the first part you can always write a different story.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

