Oh, I Juggle!

Home, Family, Success, Peace… Can a woman really have it all?

The Initial Spark

Whenever I have to do a post after a long gap, I worry. I feel as uncertain as I did when I started this blog. It is always easier to keep doing something than to start doing it. I know I should keep posting more often if I want this blog to survive. The intentions are all there, believe me. The execution, well, there are highs and there are lows.

Life interrupted the writing schedule a few weeks back and I haven’t gotten back in the saddle yet. The past few days, I have started and abandoned a few attempts at a comeback post. All attempts fizzled out even before anything shaped up. What does it take to write a piece? Any piece. Something triggers a single idea. A train of thoughts surrounding that idea follow. You think that you might be able to pull off a couple of hundred words following those thoughts. Shuffle them around in a way that might appeal to a reader who does not really care about all the thoughts that flood your mind.

When the mind is exposed to other people’s thoughts and opinions, it is easier to find more initial sparks to trigger fresh ideas. The spark alone is not enough, though. There has to be enough fuel to build a raging fire. I seem to be running out of fuel. Getting back in the saddle is much more difficult than I thought. My horse is galloping away.
—–
I have been trying to complete a satisfactory post for quite some time now and have not been successful. What I have written above is just some free writing that I did to get something out. I am that severely blocked. I am posting that because I don’t have anything else and I have to do a post.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “The Initial Spark

  1. As I read on your blog only, free writing is going to help. Hope it melts the block away and we see some interesting posts coming our way.

  2. The block can be terrible sometimes but I am sure you will get a spark sooner than later. Just don’t think about it and it will appear.

  3. jayksingh99 on said:

    Hi Shankari,

    Believe me, this is exactly what happens to me time and again. Even I was away from my blog for around 2 weeks due to a family function. It was very difficult coming back to blogging terms after such a long gap. However, the push has to be there, otherwise you’ll fall into a vortex of limbo. Just take it cool, visit a nearby bookstore or talk to that old good friend of yours. It might just spark off unknown ideas. :)

    Keep posting. Waiting for your next post. :)

    Regards

    Jay
    http://road-to-sanitarium.blogspot.in/

  4. I can totally relate to the blogger’s block for I am going through one too :(..But believe all it takes is just one small post to ignite your spirits and you won’t even know when you’re back on track! Btw reading and visiting other blog helps!! Tried and tested :P

  5. Hi Akka,

    Been meaning to comment for a while now. Your writing is so refreshing, simple and personal that it reminds of Ruskin Bond, the first author I’ve ever read. I’ve never known about this wonderful gift of yours. You should write a book and I hope that I can read it one day. Please post more often…

    • Thanks so much for your kind words, Ananta. It feels wonderful to hear these things even when I know you are exaggerating ;-) . I am working on a novel and hoping it turns out well. I should post more often, there are no two opinions about that. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

