Oh, I Juggle!

Home, Family, Success, Peace… Can a woman really have it all?

Decluttering Time

It is that time of the year again. I can feel it in the air. Even though routine cleaning keeps visible parts of the house organised, I can feel the draughts of disorganisation seep stealthily in. I am a little more stressed than usual and there is a certain dullness to my moods.

I am surprised how my possessions have multiplied and slowly filled up the silent corners of my home while I was not looking. Now, I am not an impulsive spender and neither is my husband. We actually think a lot before buying even ordinary things and deciding to bring anything new into our home. And that is why I am surprised. Things still make their way into our homes. We welcomed a baby into our lives eight months ago and with it came many new pieces of clothing, toys, etc. With so many new things coming in, if there is not an equal or more number of things going out, the house gets cluttered.

Now that I have the maths out of the way, I have to decide on a strategy to declutter. This is the seventh house I have lived in, in the eight years that I have been married. Each move helps in going through all the items and deciding what to throw and what to keep. And I do a full reorganising at least once a year. Looking back, that seems like a lot of organising. But there doesn’t seem to be much to show for all that hard work I put in. One reason is that I don’t have strong maintenance systems in place. Therefore, the family does not contribute much to the upkeep of our home. This time I want to do it right. Think through all the processes that go on in the house and set robust systems in place for maintenance.

I have always been fascinated with organising and the power it has to change our lives. I experience an immediate boost in confidence in handling the many facets of my life. I become a better cook, a loving wife, a patient mother, a creative writer, a cheerful host and an energetic home manager. Can this one thing influence so many aspects of life? It can and it does. I have experienced it before and I really need that boost now. My daughter goes back to school next week after the summer holidays and I have a stiff deadline I set myself for finishing the first draft of my novel.

I look for motivation each time I start an organising project. This time I found Throw Out Fifty Things. Gail Blanke says that when you throw out fifty things and write it down, something comes over you. You find energy, momentum and courage to do so much more. I have downloaded the workbook and will start the ‘Big Letting Go’ from June 1, 2012.

I will keep you posted on how it goes.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Decluttering Time

  1. sangeetha on said:

    Loved reading it..

  2. Pingback: Cleared Some Space and Feeling Energised « Oh, I Juggle!

Leave a Reply

