Oh, I Juggle!

Home, Family, Success, Peace… Can a woman really have it all?

Just Married Please Excuse by Yashodhara Lal- Review

“Where is the sticky stuff we make rotis with?” Y asks V after searching the kitchen cabinets for readymade dough for a botched up surprise breakfast of alu parathas.

Introducing Y, a smart professional with an MBA from one of the top institutes in the country, but unbelievably naive when it comes to domesticity. Y feels she is too young to get married and has maintained a ‘let’s wait’ stance ever since V popped the question. She says an impulsive ‘yes’ when V stands by her, stroking her hair as she is vomiting! Not very romantic when said like that. But isn’t this how love evolves in marriage? Knowing that building a life together is more than sitting around candles and roses and romance is standing through difficult times, beside the one you love. Most of the difficulties Y and V face are, however, self inflicted. Each of those ups and downs tickles and touches the heart at the same time. Yashodhara Lal beautifully marries emotion and humour and makes them work together wonderfully well.

‘Just Married, Please Excuse’ is the heartwarming story of Y and V, how they come together in holy matrimony and go through all sorts of unholy experiences that couples adjusting to new roles go through. V is poles apart from Y in most respects but his devotion to her and her childlike ways is endearing.

I love humour and most of my appreciation is shown by smiling. I rarely laugh out loud. It is probably because I am tough to impress and also because I don’t find crass ‘in your face’ humour funny at all. As I balanced JMPE in one hand and patted my baby to sleep with another, both he and I were surprised by the frequent chuckles escaping my throat. If the book could do that to me, I can safely bet that most of you will be clutching your bellies and tearing up with laughter. Even when I was not laughing, I was grinning and nodding throughout. My husband, who rarely comments on what I read, became quite curious and asked me what the book was about. Humour is extremely difficult to execute well. Yashodhara is a natural and does her job with great finesse.

All the characters in the book grow on you and stay with you long after you finish reading the 255 pages. I feel as if I have known and loved Y for a long time. My measure for great characters is how long they stay with me after I turn the last page of the book. I finished reading nearly ten days ago.  I still get a warm fuzzy feeling when I think of Y.  Just like the kind you feel when you think of a friend.

You could try and win a copy by participating in the contest. Even if you don’t win, just go ahead and order your copy online. If, like me, you insist on great quality of narration and love humour, you will not regret it.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Just Married Please Excuse by Yashodhara Lal- Review

  1. Yes it sounds interesting. I think I will get a copy. Thanks for the review. By the way how is your book coming along?

    • Thanks, Meera. I have completed about 37% of the first draft. I have a clear outline till the 50% mark and a sketchy one the rest of the way. I need to write more words per day.

  2. A very nice review that has highlighted what I look for in a book – great narration and humour too ! I’m going to get this one for myself. 🙂

    • Thanks, Sudhagee. This is the first review I have ever done and I didn’t really know how to go about it. I do have an opinion every time I finish reading a book, but it is not that easy voicing it.

      • An very nice review it is, Shankari. From my experience I can share that there is no one way to review a book. I just let my opinion of the book shape the review.

  3. That is a very smiling review for sure! I did take note of the book’s quality that can win across ‘tough to impress’ facades. It is so encouraging a thought!

    I am expecting that book in my post.

  4. Hi Shankari, if you like romance and light read books, would be nice if you read Arranged Love by me (Parul A Mittal) – Penguin’s latest metro read book. If you read this genre and don’t like the book, I will refund the money:)

    • Hi Parul. Light romance is not the usual genre I read. I love suspense and thrillers. I actually won JMPE in a giveaway and just wanted to trying doing a review :-P. I would still love to read ‘ Arranged Love’.

      Thanks a lot for stopping by. I am working on a novel too and it is nice to connect with published authors. 🙂

Leave a Reply

